Class a le crepe

So last Thursday I took this awesome creperie class at Dore Creperie. Finally my dream of having my own creperie takes its first steps! Dore Creperie is one of the few creperies in Boston. It opened up relatively recently and is situated in the financial district of Boston at 1 Beacon st.

The class is normally about $70/per person, but I lucked out and scored a Living Social deal that cut that price in half. My roommate arrived promptly at 6pm and we were immediately offered free drinks while waiting for others to show up. The class was small and intimate – only 6 or 7 people, providing plenty of one on one attention.

The class started off with a brief history of the crepe, believed to be originated in Rome and then traveling to France, where it become the well-known dish it is today. Originally, crepes were the food of the proletariat, and made from buckwheat with an egg cooked in the middle for a hearty meal.

Only later did Paris restaurants alter the original crepe and make it into the delicious delectable as we know it today.

As we learned about the crepe’s history, we got to try a roman crepe, the poor man’s crepe, and the more well known fancy crepe (strawberry and nuttella!). While the fig and walnut roman crepe was fine enough, the buckwheat tasted pretty horrific to me – I definitely prefer today’s modern crepe.

proletariat crepe

proletariat crepe

Strawberry and Nutella Crepe

Strawberry and Nutella Crepe

Dore Creperie

Makin' Crepes

Next we took up our cooking stations and learned how to make savory and sweet batter (the savory batter has spices while the sweet relies on sugar). Next we practiced making crepes on the round professional griddles. Let me say, it looks much easier then it is! But we got to practice a lot and I finally got a hang of it.

Batter Making

Batter Making

Then we had the chance to make our own original crepes, free to use any of the restaurants goodies! People made some awesome combinations. I made a goat cheese, tomato, basil, and mushroom savory crepe, and then a nutella, walnut, and strawberry crepe. Needless to say, deliciousness ensued.

Roommate makes crepe

My Roommate Makes a Crepe!

By the end of the class, I had eaten so many crepes, I wondered if I’d ever want to see another ever again. We were surprised to have our class end with the kind folks at Dore handing out bags of savory and sweet batter, as well as a gift certificate for our next visit to Dore – a very sweet surprise!

Yummy Crepe

Enjoying My Creation

It was a really fantastic and enjoyable class, I’m so glad I did it and highly recommend it to anyone remotely interested in crepes.

Normally when I am set on enjoying a delicious crepe, I head over to Paris Creperie in Coolidge Corner. Only a few T stops away, Paris Creperie makes fantastic crepes full of delicious fillings.

Comparing the two creperies, I’m not sure there is a clear winner. Having taken the class at Dore makes me feel some loyalty towards them, and I really like their fun and friendly atmosphere. Paris Creperie feels more like a mortuary at times with its dark and quiet atmosphere. But the variety of crepes is incredible, and the fillings are perfection.

When ordering the Apple and Brie crepe at Dore, the fillings were very disappointing. Granted, they are very new and learning a lot, but Paris certainly takes the win for fillings.

I will say that I think Dore’s crepes are more reasonably priced, and I believe as workers continue to practice the art of le crepe, their artistry will improve.

Leave a Reply

