Top 10 Free Android Apps for Girls

I’ve seen countless lists out there for top android apps around. Most of them are pretty similar, since the recommended apps are always great, but as I’ve hunted down apps from the Market, I’ve found some really fantastic apps that can cater especially to women:

Sound Hound – Sound Hound is the app I have been dreaming of. No longer do I have to scrounge in my glove compartment, looking for a pen and napkin to scribble obscure lyrics on in hope of Googling them later. Sound Hound can quickly recognize any song and tell you the singer and song title.

For added fun, try singing to Sound Hound and see if it can guess what you’re singing. Just don’t get your feelings hurt when it thinks your rendition of Celion Dion sounds more like Michael Jackson.

Evernote – I love Evernote because it lets you manage lists, save website clippings, recipes,  photos, etc, and sync all that data together across your  phone, home computer and web browser together. Super easy, sleek looking, and fun to use.

My Days – This great little app is a calendar that lets your record your “womanly times” of the month. What is really fantastic is that it can predict next month’s visit from mother nature (don’t plan on wearing your white bathing suit for that upcoming beach vacation), as well as tell you what days you’ll be ovulating and most fertile.

my days

My Days App

Action Potato – This underrated game from Sunflat is very simple, and yet adorable and highly addictive. My friends and I have spent many a long car ride trying to beat eachother’s high score.

Fx Camera – This camera app is great because it offers several different fun modes to use, such as Polaroid, Fisheye, and Warhol, among others.

Groupon / Living Social – Who doesn’t love these two? Any savy girl shopper will want these apps close at hand, whether it means getting a great deal on this season’s newest threads, or getting a sweet dinner deal.

Robot Unicorn Attack ($0.99) – OK, so I had to throw one paid app in here. But I assure you, it’s worth the $0.99. Control a robotic, rainbow-maned unicorn as you jump through purple grass, smash into giant stars, and gallop with robotic dolphin pals. It’s like Rainbow Brite and My Little Pony did tons of drugs and had a baby. The music is what really takes the cake for this game. You’ll never forget it. When it’s cold…outside…

Yelp – My friends and I often decide to get food on a whim, rarely planning out where we want to eat. But wasting money on a bad meal is never fun. Yelp is an awesome way to see what the nearby recommended eats are, so you’ll never suffer through a bad meal again.

Endomondo – This workout app has some really great options available with it – it can track your speed, distance, calories burned, and can sync up with music. It also gives you workout goals such as beating a friend, beating your personal best, etc.

Angry Birds – the obvious but loveable choice.

OK, so I know pretty much all of these apps can be enjoyed by guys and girls alike. I guess really I just wanted to point out “My Days” because I think it is so fantastic and handy, but gets very little attention because, let’s face it, usually guys write about technology, and they certainly don’t need to track any monthly movements.

 

 

Leave a Reply

